Higher Specialist Training in Urology in the South West is provided at 10 hospitals recognised for urology training across the Severn and Peninsula Schools of Surgery.

The Southwest rotation in urology has a reputation for providing very good training in urology with plenty of hands-on experience. The region also provides the whole variety of urological subspecialty experience. Appointment to ST3 training in Urology is now carried out at national selection. Successful candidates in the South West may start their rotation in the Severn or Peninsula end of the rotation. The placements are for 1 year and the length of the rotation is 5 years, subject to satisfactory progression. The precise postings are dependent on vacancies, and as a general rule, the more senior trainees tend to have a slightly greater choice of where they would prefer to be posted. Postings tend to be at the discretion of the Training Programme Director, but an effort is made to minimise frequent moves to opposite ends of the region. There is a formal consultant-led teaching programme on a monthly basis – this includes consultant led lectures in urology and allied specialties as well as regular viva practice. Attendance at these is mandatory. In addition to this, all trainees are expected to attend two of the regional meetings – The South West Urologists Annual meeting and the Annual meeting of the Bristol Urological Institute.

Urologists are combined medical and surgical specialists who treat patients with prostate, kidney, bladder and urinary problems. Urologists also care for men's sexual and reproductive health. The specialty is an evolving one and consultant numbers continue to expand to deal with the urological problems associated with an increasingly elderly population.

There is an increasing tendency to sub-specialise and the national association (The British Association of Urological Surgeons (BAUS)) now has 5 subspecialty sections:

1. Section of Oncology

The Section of Oncology was formed in 1998.

Goals: To promote the highest standard in the practice of urological oncology.

2. Section of Endourology

The Section of Endourology was formed in 2002.

Goals: To promote training, research and development in Endourology with the aim of improving standards and quality of practice at all levels.

3. Section of Andrology & Genito-Urethral Surgery

The section of Andrology was formed in 2003 and renamed in 2009.

Goals: To promote the highest standards of Andrology in the UK.
To promote audit and research among British Urologists.
To promote and organise education among British Urologists.

4. Section of Female, Neurological & Urodynamic Urology

The Section of Female & Reconstructive Urology was formed in 2003, and renamed in June 2009. Its aim is to promote the highest standards in female urology in the United Kingdom. To achieve this aim, Good Practice Guidelines have been produced, which may be accessed from the Sections' Guideline pages of the BAUS website. The Section's main function is to set and raise standards by providing guidelines, training, research and clinical meeting (in conjunction with BAUS).

5. Section of Academic Urology

The Section of Academic Urology was formed in June 2007.

Goals: The Section will act as a focus for all those interested in urological research and aims to attract urologists at all levels, other medical specialists and basic scientists. Its objectives are to nurture future academic urologists, promote patient based research among NHS colleagues, and facilitate interactions between NHS and academic members of BAUS.

The School of Surgery offers urology training at the following hospitals:

  1. Royal United Hospital, Bath
  2. Southmead Hospital, Bristol
  3. Cheltenham General Hospital
  4. Great Western Hospital, Swindon
  5. Musgrove Park Hospital, Taunton
  6. Derriford Hospital, Plymouth
  7. Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro
  8. Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Exeter
  9. Torbay Hospital, Torquay

For assessment requirements, please see the ARCP Checklist.

Please see the School Structure page for Head of School, Training Programme Director, College Tutor and School Management contact details.